hello.

hello! i want to start off by introducing myself even if you already know me.  my husband and i have been together for 6 years, married for 3. we have a very healthy 2 year old little boy, beckett lincoln, who was born 11 weeks early only weighing 2 pounds 11 ounces.  we recently got relocated to phoenix, az from albuquerque, nm.

a year and a half ago i was diagnosed with a rare autoimmune (AI) called Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) which caused Pulmonary Hypertension (PH).  the good news is that as of right now everything is stable and the PH is no longer detectable.  due to my AI it is not recommended for me to get pregnant ever again due to a high maternal mortality rate.  my husband and i have been contemplating between surrogacy and adoption.  my only sister and i were both adopted at birth so adoption has always been something i wanted to pay forward. it’s an incredibly hard decision for a mother to make but it gave me such a wonderful life and amazing opportunities.  speaking purely for myself, i truly feel that all my life’s ups and downs have lead me here, to grow our family through adoption.

please bare with me as i am not a “blogger” but this journey is quite the extensive process and i want to be able to document and share the entire journey.  it will also help me keep my mind and hands busy as we “hurry up to wait”.  announcing to our friends and family via social media lifted a huge weight bc i hate keeping secrets!  im hoping this blog will be helpful as well as useful for me and my peers.

a dear friend of mine sent me a text after seeing our announcement video and her words are what led me to this blog title, “what a powerful choice for you both and such a full circle decision for you.” it spoke to me, warmed my heart and soul, and gave me a sense of peace.  the anxiety dissipated immediately. thank you, friend.

this is going to be a day by day process and i anticipate a few steps forward and a few steps back but i feel like we learned, conquered and dominated that lifestyle while being in the NICU for 70 consecutive days with beckett. i do pray for patience, open heart, and to truly love the entire process.  can’t wait to keep you all up to date with how our journey is moving forward.

be brave.

kira

2 thoughts on “hello.

  1. I am praying for you and the family – you,Michel and Beckett are such amazing people! Positive thoughts sent your way !!
    Gods Timing is the best time !
    Xoxoxox

    Like

    1. Kira!we went to school together in Albuquerque and I am so glad to read your story!
      My little sister was adopted by our family when I was 14 and it was an amazingly hard and long journey for us too. We went through binding with 3 babies before finally adopting Alissa 🙂
      I’m praying for your adoption situation and continued strength and good health!
      My son was born early but only 4 weeks. He had an extremely rare deformity called an meningocele when he was born (which we didn’t know about) and we spent 40 days in the NICU after his birth. The Lord protected his brain and he is now a normal functioning and healthy baby boy who just turned one!!
      I love how God uses our stories to help others heal, be transparent, ask for help, and allow Grace in. I’m so glad you shared your story and that I stopped scrolling Facebook to actually read it 🙂 I feel like I help be a part of your journey from Minnesota through prayer. Many blessings to you and your growing family 🙏👏😘❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

